New Computer Building

Post subject: New Computer Building
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 7:52 am 
Ginger Quiff with Crimson Low Lights

Hi guys, I come seeking a little advice again.

I've decided to build a new rig, something I've never done before, usually preferring to get a factory model, then upgrade/tweak it further down the line. But shopping around I can't find any I like, in the configurations I'd like to set up, so needs must. I'm never going to own a high end gaming system (unless I rob a bank!) so budget is limited to as cheap as possible. £500-700 mark is about as far as I'd like to stretch atm.

Those of you that do build your own, how do you go about it, can you recommend any sites that are user friendly, put the components together for you, and are cheap? I've found quite a good site so far that does this, I'm not sure how good their prices are though. http://www.computerplanet.co.uk/index.html

On the site I've built a set up as follows, please criticize it in anyway, and tell me if I've screwed up somewhere:-

Specification

Computer Case - Sharkoon T9 Gaming Case (Red) - (3 case fans)
CPU - AMD Phenom II X6 1055T (6 x 2.8 GHz) 9MB (AMD to try cut the price a bit)
CPU Heatsink - AMD Heatsink & Fan
Memory - Corsair 8GB XMS3 PC3-12800 1600MHz (2x4GB) - (DDR3) (with 2 mem slots to spare)
Graphics Card - None or Motherboard Integrated Graphics (I have a PCI-E x16 Graphics card already)
Motherboard - Asus M5A78L LE (AMD 760G)
Sound Card - Motherboard Integrated HD Sound (I have a PCI soundcard already)
Networking - Motherboard Integrated Ethernet Lan (Broadband Ready)
Power Supply - Cooler Master 650W PSU - Low Noise (Shouldn't need any more, MB can only hold one good GFX card)
Hard Drive #1 - 500 GB SATA-II HDD 7200 16MB (FREE UPGRADE TO 750GB ORDER BEFORE 11:59 PM ON 08-01-12)
Optical Drive #1 - Samsung 24x DVD Re-Writer/Reader /- RW- Black - Lightscribe (SATA)
Card Reader - Internal Card Reader 50-in-1